What is the Ludwig scale for women's hair loss?

The Ludwig scale is a classification system used to describe and categorize the patterns of female pattern hair loss (FPHL). It was developed by Dr. Ludwig in the 1970s as a means to assess and communicate the severity of hair loss in women. The Ludwig scale is primarily focused on the central scalp area and classifies female hair loss into three main stages.

Here are the three stages of the Ludwig scale:

Ludwig Female Hair Loss Scale

Ludwig Stage I:
In this stage, there is minimal to no recession of the hairline. The central part may widen, and there may be slight thinning in the crown area. Overall, the hair loss is mild.

Ludwig Stage II:
Stage II is characterized by noticeable widening of the central part and increased thinning in the crown area. The hair loss becomes moderate in severity.

Ludwig Stage III:
At this advanced stage, the central part continues to widen, and there is significant thinning in the crown area. The hair loss is severe, and the scalp becomes more visible.

Unlike the Norwood scale for men, which includes specific patterns of hair loss, the Ludwig scale focuses more on the overall thinning of hair in the central scalp region in women. It provides a general framework for assessing the severity of female pattern hair loss.

It’s important to note that female hair loss can also be influenced by factors other than genetics, such as hormonal changes, medical conditions, and lifestyle factors. Therefore, a thorough evaluation by a Hair Restoration Center Surgeon is recommended to determine the underlying cause and appropriate treatment options for female hair loss.

If a woman is experiencing hair loss, she should consult with a Hair Restoration Center professional for a  complimentary consultation and personalized treatment plan. Treatment options may include medications, topical solutions, laser therapy, or, in some cases, hair transplant surgery.

Call 1 (888) 589-3064 today for more information.